State Name

State Profile

Capitol City Tallahassee

Governor Rick Scott, Republican

General Elections November of every even-numbered year

Legislature Convenes In most years, the regular session begins on the first Tuesday after

the first Monday in March and lasts for sixty (60) days

<u>Senate</u> 40 legislators

Republicans (#) 28 Democrats (#) 12

Term 4 year terms

Presiding Officer Senate President Mike Haridopolos

Senate President-Designate Don Gaetz

Majority Leader Senator Andy Gardiner
Minority Leader Senator Nan Rich

Major Utility Committee Communications, Energy and Public Utilities

<u>House</u> 120 legislators*

*one current vacancy due to a resignation

Republicans (#) 81 Democrats (#) 38

Term 2 year terms

Presiding Officer House Speaker Dean Cannon

House Speaker-Designate Will Weatherford

Majority Leader Representative Carlos Lopez-Cantera

Minority Leader Representative Ron Saunders
Major Utility Committee Energy & Utilities Subcommittee

Regulatory Body Florida Public Service Commission Commissioner Eduardo Balbis

Chairman Ronald Brisé
Commissioner Julie Brown
Commissioner Lisa Edgar
Commissioner Art Graham

Method of Appointment Nominated by the Florida Legislature

Appointed by the Governor

Current Issues Continuing to develop a comprehensive energy policy for the

State of Florida