Iowa

Capitol City: Des Moines

Governor: Terry E. Branstad (R) Longest serving governor in the U.S. Governor Branstad resigned in May of 2017 to become U.S. Ambassador to the People's Republic of China.

Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds (R) succeeded as the new Governor, and first female Governor, of Iowa.

Primary Elections: June 5, 2018

General Elections: November 6, 2018

All House seats are up for election in 2018; only half of the Senate is up for reelection.

Senate: 50 Total – 29 Republicans – 20 Democrats – 1 Independent

Term 4 years

Senate President – Charles Schneider (R)

Majority Leader – Jack Whitver (R)

Minority Leader – Janet Petersen (D)

Major Utility Committee – Senate Commerce Committee

Chair – Jake Chapman (R)

House: 100 Total – 59 Republicans – 41 Democrats

Term 2 years

Speaker – Linda Upmeyer (R)

Majority Leader – Chris Hagenow (R)

Minority Leader – Mark Smith (D)

Major Utility Committee - House Commerce Committee

Chair – Peter Cownie (R)

Senate File 2311:

- Goal:
 - Lead market-regulatory transformation for our customers through changes in state law.
- Key Provisions:
 - Provide for the use of an optional forward-looking test year to better align the cost of energy investments with customer benefits.
 - Create a permanent mechanism to recover **transmission-related investments**.
 - Promote growth in renewable energy through the advance ratemaking for the repowering of facilities, including existing wind turbines.
 - Encourage **natural gas extensions**, a key driver for economic development and job creation.
 - Update energy efficiency programs to reflect changes in the energy market and help customers save money.
 - Expedite the Iowa Utilities Board review of federal tax reform benefit return to customers.